Skip to content

Faculty and Staff

Staff: MU-COM Faculty | Dean's Cabinet | Biomedical Science | Clinical Affairs Staff | Student Affairs | Health Professions Enrollment Management | Simulation Center | Assessment

 

We are proud to introduce our exceptional team of medical professors and course directors, all dedicated to preparing students for a fulfilling career in the health professions. Our faculty and staff have a rich background in the medical field as practitioners, researchers, educators, and specialists. The entire team is either a PhD, DO, or an MD; all highly trained educators working collaboratively to create a complete and robust curriculum. 

They have chosen to be a part of the Marian University College of Osteopathic Medicine (MU-COM) community to contribute to its growth and excellence in the field of osteopathic medicine. Their commitment to student success is unparalleled, and they provide unwavering support to nurture the skills, performance, and collaboration of all students. 

Their primary obligations are teaching, scholarly activity and service in support of the student. Our faculty’s roles are not about teaching as an opportunity to do research or practice in a clinic, their jobs are truly about providing student support and education.

They strive to foster a culture of collaboration and intellectual curiosity that will stay with our graduates throughout their medical careers.

 

MU-COM Faculty

  • Samina Akbar Ph.D.
    Samina Akbar, Ph.D.
    Professor of Microbiology
    (317) 955-6608
    sakbar@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #318C
  • Erica Ausel, PhD
    Erica Ausel, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Anatomy
    (317) 955-6275
    eausel@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #317D
  • Megan Balle, Ph.D. Candidate
    Megan Balle, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Anatomy
    (317) 955-6687
    mballe@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #313E
  • Jesse Clark, DO
    Jesse Clark, DO
    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6606
    jnclark2@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #312A
    Bio
  • medhane-cumbay
    Medhane Cumbay, Ph.D.
    Faculty Association President
    Associate Professor of Pharmacology
    (317) 955-6625
    mgcumbay@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #315E
    Bio 
  • E. Ann Cunningham, DO
    E. Ann Cunningham, DO
    Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
  • Elizabeth Delery, Ph.D
    Elizabeth Delery, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
    Director of Research Laboratory
    (317) 955-6630
    edelery@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #318D
  • Wilbert A. Derbigny, Ph.D.
    Wilbert A. Derbigny, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
    (317) 955-6252
    wderbigny@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #318B
  • David Dufeau
    David Dufeau, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Anatomy
    (317) 955-6603
    ddufeau@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #313D
  • Matthew Eaton, DO, MPH
    Matthew Eaton, DO, MPH
    Assistant Professor of Osteopathic Principles and Practice
    Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
    (317) 955-6502
    meaton@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316G
  • Dr David Eland
    David Eland, DO, FAAO
    Professor of Osteopathic Principles and Practice
    (317) 955-6674
    deland@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316H
  • Daniel J. Fagan, M.D.
    Daniel J. Fagan, M.D.
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
    (317) 955-6293
    dfagan2@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316E
  • Dr Robyn Fuchs
    Robyn Fuchs, Ph.D., FACSM, FASBMR
    Professor of Physiology
    (317) 955-6272
    rfuchs@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #317E
  • David Gardner
    David Gardner, Ph.D.
    Professor of Biochemistry
    (317) 955-6283
    dpgardner@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #312C
  • Dan Gelfman
    Dan Gelfman, M.D.
    Clinical Professor Emeritus of Medicine
    dgelfman@adrionportraits.com
  • Gehring L square
    Leah Gehring, DO
    Clinical Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
  • Julia Hum, Ph.D.
    Julia Hum, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Physiology
    Director of Biomedical Sciences MS Program
    (317) 955-6265
    jmhum@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #312A
  • Jeremy Jones, DO
    Jeremy Jones, DO
    Associate Professor of Primary Care
    (317) 955-6693
    jljones@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316B
  • Richard Klabunde
    Richard Klabunde, Ph.D.
    Professor of Physiology
    (317) 955-6267
    rklabunde@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #317A
  • Clif Knight, MD, CPE, FAAFP
    Clif Knight, M.D., CPE, FAAFP
    Assistant Dean of Graduate Medical Education
    Associate Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6295
    cknight@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #311A
  • Sophie LaSalle, Ph.D.
    Sophie LaSalle, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
    Associate Professor of Biochemistry
    (317) 955-6688
    slasalle@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303C
  • Jonathan Lowery
    Jonathan Lowery, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Physiology
    Assistant Provost for Research and Scholarship
    (317) 955-6621
    jlowery@adrionportraits.com
    Marian Hall, Room #108C
  • John Lucich
    John Lucich, M.D.
    Chair of Internal Medicine
    Professor of Internal Medicine
    (317) 955-6513
    jlucich@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316A
  • Headshort placeholder
    Niladri Kumar Mahato, MBBS, MS, DNB, PhD
    Assistant Professor of Anatomy
    (317) 955-6257
    nmahato@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #313C
  • Anthony Martin, DO
    Anthony L. Martin, DO
    Assistant Dean of Clinical Affairs
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
    (317) 955-6268
    amartin2@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303E
  • Tina C. Mason, MD, MPH, FACOG
    Tina C. Mason, MD, MPH, FACOG
    Associate Professor of Primary Care
    tmason@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316J
  • Emily Masser, Ph.D.
    Emily Masser, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Biochemistry
    (317) 955-6276
    emasser@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #315B
  • Erin-McClelland
    Erin E. McClelland, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
    (317) 955-6273
    emcclelland@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #318E
  • Lyree N. Mikhail, M.D.
    Lyree Mikhail, M.D.
    Associate Professor of OB/GYN
    (317) 955-6299
    lmikhail@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #313A
  • Luke Nelligan, D.O.
    Luke Nelligan, DO
    Chair of Family Medicine
    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6634
    lnelligan@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #311B
  • Elizabeth Petsche, JD
    Elizabeth Petsche, JD
    Assistant General Counsel
    Senior Advisor to the Senior Vice President of Health Professions
    Associate Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6722
    empetsche@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #362
  • Sumathilatha Velavan
    Sumathilatha Sakthi Velavan, MBBS, DGO, MS
    Associate Professor of Anatomy
    (317) 955-6245
    ssakthivelavan@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #313B
  • Dr. Brian Skinner
    Brian Skinner, PharmD, BCPS
    Faculty Association Secretary
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
    (317) 955-6580
    bskinner@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316F
  • Catherine Steding, Ph.D.
    Catherine Steding, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
    (317) 955-6398
    csteding@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #315C
  • David Strom Ph.D.
    David Strom, Ph.D.
    Associate Professor of Pharmacology
    (317) 955-6281
    dstrom@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #315F
  • Annabel-Vila
    Annabel Vila, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Pathology
    (317) 955-6476
    avila@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #318A
  • Angela Wagner, DO
    Angela Wagner, DO
    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Assistant Professor of Osteopathic Practice and Principles
    (317) 955-6438
    awagner2@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316D
  • David Williams, DO
    David C. Williams, DO
    Chair, Task Force on Professionalism
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
    317-955-6296
    dwilliams2@adrionportraits.com
    EC #303
  • Dr. Amanda Wright
    Amanda Wright, DO
    Dean, College of Osteopathic Medicine
    Associate Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6721
    awright2@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303B
  • Guang Xum Ph.D.
    Guang Xu, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor Biostatistics and Public Health
    (317) 955-6496
    guangxu@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #317C
  • Emily Young, MD
    Emily Young, M.D.
    Associate Professor of Pediatrics
    (317) 955-6627
    eyoung@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316C
    Bio 
  • Sarah B. Zahl, Ph.D.
    Sarah Zahl, Ph.D.
    Assistant Dean for Accreditation and Assessment
    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Assistant Professor of Education
    (317) 955-6615
    szahl@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #311A

Dean's Cabinet

  • Dr. Amanda Wright
    Amanda Wright, DO
    Dean, College of Osteopathic Medicine
    Associate Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6721
    awright2@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303B
  • medhane-cumbay
    Medhane Cumbay, Ph.D.
    Faculty Association President
    Associate Professor of Pharmacology
    (317) 955-6625
    mgcumbay@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #315E
  • David Dufeau
    David Dufeau, Ph.D.
    Chair of Anatomy and Pathology
    Associate Professor of Anatomy
    (317) 955-6603
    ddufeau@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #313D
  • Rhonda Garrison
    Rhonda Garrison
    Assistant Dean for the Continuum of Physician Education
    (317) 955-6260
    rgarrison@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303F
  • Kyle Hattenburg
    Kyle Hattenburg
    Assistant Vice President Health Professions Enrollment
    (317) 955-6763
    khattenburg@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #114
  • Julia Hum, Ph.D.
    Julia Hum, Ph.D.
    Assistant Professor of Physiology
    Director of Biomedical Sciences MS Program
    (317) 955-6265
    jmhum@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #312A
  • Clif Knight, MD, CPE, FAAFP
    Clif Knight, M.D., CPE, FAAFP
    Assistant Dean of Graduate Medical Education
    Associate Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6295
    cknight@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #311A
  • Sophie LaSalle, Ph.D.
    Sophie LaSalle, Ph.D.
    Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
    Associate Professor of Biochemistry
    (317) 955-6288
    slasalle@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303C
  • Anthony Martin, DO
    Anthony L. Martin, DO
    Assistant Dean of Clinical Affairs
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
    (317) 955-6268
    amartin2@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303E
  • Luke Nelligan, D.O.
    Luke Nelligan, DO
    Chair of Family Medicine
    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6634
    lnelligan@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #311B
  • Elizabeth Petsche, JD
    Elizabeth Petsche, JD
    Assistant General Counsel
    Senior Advisor to the Senior Vice President of Health Professions
    Associate Professor of Family Medicine
    (317) 955-6722
    empetsche@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #362
  • Dr. Brian Skinner
    Brian Skinner, PharmD, BCPS
    Faculty Association Secretary
    Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
    (317) 955-6580
    bskinner@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316F
  • Clint Whitson
    Clint Whitson, Ed.D.
    Assistant Dean of Student Affairs
    (317) 955-6611
    cwhitson@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #116
  • Sarah B. Zahl, Ph.D.
    Sarah Zahl, Ph.D.
    Assistant Dean for Accreditation and Assessment
    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Assistant Professor of Education
    (317) 955-6615
    szahl@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #311A

Biomedical Science Staff

  • headshot
    Alexandria Hofmeister
    Administrative Assistant, BMS Master's Program
    (317) 955-6047
    ahofmeister@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center #304
  • headshot
    Samantha Houston
    Anatomy Lab Manager
    (317) 955-6791
    shouston@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center #304
  • headshot
    Laurie Ray
    Administrative Assistant
    (317) 955-6719
    lkray@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303

Clinical Affairs Staff

  • Lisa Blake
    Lisa Blake
    Administrative Assistant for Pre-Clerkship Clinical Faculty
    (317) 955-6290
    lblake@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #303
  • Maxine Gries
    Maxine Gries
    Clerkship Coordinator
    (317) 955-6181
    mgries@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316
  • headshot
    Paula Meyer
    Clerkship Coordinator
    (317) 955-6623
    pmeyer@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316
  • headshot
    Kasey Myers
    Clerkship Coordinator
    (317) 955-6622
    kmyers2@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316
  • Sarah Price
    Sarah Price '21
    Clerkship Coordinator
    (317) 955-6289
    sprice1@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #316
  • Headshort placeholder
    Tyler Fletcher
    Medical Student Academic Coordinator
    (317) 338-2282
    tyler.fletcher@ascension.org

Student Affairs Team

  • Elena Bolin MS, OTR
    Elena T. Bolin, M.S., O.T.R.
    Director of Health Professions Pathway Programs
    (317) 955-6597
    ebolin@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 119
  • Headshort placeholder
    Cortney Brunson
    Coordinator of Health Professions Pathway Programs
    (317) 955-6474
    cbruson@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 350F
  • Lauren Goodall
    Lauren Goodall
    Administrative Assistant
    (317) 955-6410
    lgoodall@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 109
  • Elisha Hancock
    Elisha Hancock, M.S.
    Career Advisor and GME Specialist
    (317) 955-6367
    ehancock@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 108
  • Hofmeister, Kaylee
    Kaylee Hofmeister, M.Ed.
    Graduate Learning Support Specialist
    (317) 955-6612
    khofmeister@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 109
  • Asia Hudson
    Asia L. Hudson, M.A.
    Director of Student Leadership and Wellness Programs
    (317) 955-6021
    ahudson1@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 109
  • Holly Kerstner
    Holly Kerstner, M.S.
    Director of Academic Support
    (317) 955-6248
    hkerstner@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 117
  • headshot
    Christopher Parr
    Director of Graduate Medical Education Advising and Applications
    (317) 955-6605
    cparr@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 108
  • Vitaniemi, Sara
    Sara Vitaniemi, M.S.Ed.
    Graduate Learning Support Specialist
    (317) 955-6716
    svitaniemi@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 109       

  • clint whitson
    Clint Whitson, Ed.D.
    Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
    (317) 955-6611
    cwhitson@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, 109       

Health Professions Enrollment Management Team

Hill-Rom Simulation Center

  • headshot
    David Patterson
    Director, Hill-Rom Simulation Center
    (317) 955-6277
    dpatterson@adrionportraits.com
    Bio
  • headshot
    James Cooper
    Simulation Technology Specialist
    (317) 955-6068
    jcooper@adrionportraits.com
    Bio
  • Regina Marks
    Regina Marks
    Standardized Patient Coordinator
    (317) 955-6515
    rmarks@adrionportraits.com
    Bio 

Assessment

  • Wendy Labuzan
    Wendy Labuzan
    Coordinator of Examinations
    (317) 955-6602
    wsenour@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #309H
  • Sarah B. Zahl, Ph.D.
    Sarah Zahl, Ph.D.
    Assistant Dean for Accreditation and Assessment
    Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Assistant Professor of Education
    (317) 955-6615
    szahl@adrionportraits.com
    Evans Center, Room #311A

Can't Find What You're Looking For?

Search for it.

© 2021 Marian University
Notice of Nondiscrimination
Marian University does not discriminate on the basis of race, ethnicity, color, sex, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national origin, age or disabilities in the selection of administrative personnel, faculty and staff, and students.
*Placement rates are gathered from data collected from graduates within six months of graduation.

Students may make a complaint to the Indiana Commission of Higher Education.

Marian University is sponsored by the Sisters of St. Francis, Oldenburg, Indiana.

Submit a Marketing Request

Website built with